RANGEFINDER CAMERA COLLECTION (part I)
(c) Frank Mechelhoff
Last update 2. Jan. 2007

(German Language Version)
The Race for the fastest 35mm lens
Four lenses designed of a Mr. Hiroshi Ito
Sonnar vs. Planar design competition
Canon "Sonnar" RF 1.5/50mm
Update: NEW (2006) Zeiss Sonnar 1.5/50mm
Nikkor P.C 2/8.5cm
Nikkor P.C. 2.5/10.5cm



I'm not a collector - just obsessive for quality. I buy cameras for using. What not works or doesn't make pictures sharp enough, will come away.. Cameras and lenses are for catching moments in my life. If they do well, often this is combinded with attributes like elegant functional technique, excellent durable crafting and well-made design. The results are fine tools which works for decades due to their specs without asking questions for their pleased owners. More often than not better and more durable than cheap and disposable plastic articles of the present. So the question occurs, why any use this modern stuff, if the old gear still lasts for more than 50 years, and if you maintain it properly, will last the next 50 years as well (as long as film will exist) whereas you can junk the new stuff 10 years later...

This spirit - without the snobistic undertone of "cult object" - embody (at least to me) the Japanese cameras of the late 50's und 60's: CANON, NIKON and (later on) PENTAX represent right from the beginning an attitude and spirit of entrepreneurship and ingenious competition. They continued this attitude to the present, whereas German companies died or shrinked down to niche provider without sufficient R&D budget like Leitz and Zeiss.


COPYRIGHT (ALL PICTURES AND TEXTS by FRANK MECHELHOFF 2004 (you may use single copies for private use only)
Questions and contact: fmechelh "at" web.de

Canon 7 (1961)


CANON RANGEFINDER

It is quite unknown in Europe that CANON started its business with Rangefinder cameras with interchangeable lenses and accessories - which were invented by the famous German LEITZ in the Hessian small town Solms/Wetzlar - and growths from a small firm to the No.1 camera maker in the world. Admittedly,  in 1968 the Rangefinder (RF) product line was replaced by rising demands for Single Reflex Cameras (SLR's) which allows higher speed, longer focus and close-distace-lenses for ambitious amateurs and professionals. At first Canon's success in this new prodcut line was quite limited (compared to NIKON und PENTAX ) untill the high-level consumer and professional F-1 and AE1 were launched in the late 70's, early 80's.
Today we experience a Renaissance of Rangefinder-cameras amidst the digicam era - whereas the Film-SLR market starts to die..This makes us look back to the early history of Japanese Rangefinder industry.


LEICA-COPIES?

Canon started its career in the 30's with copies of the Leica-III with kind of a Contax bayonet mount. Both Leica and Contax were not protected by Japanese patent law then. Its name was KWANON, a goddess of charity - and probably there was a need to look mercifull at the making of these first Japanese cameras, of which less than a handfull is preserved... But that was to change soon! After 1945 all German abroad patents were canceled effected by the lost war and law of nations. A punch in the gud for the German industry. It was allowed to copy German pre-war-products in any matter and companies in the whole world did that without bad conscience.  NIKON who made optical products for Japanese military during the war now launched excellent copies of the pre-war Contax (with very similar, but not complete compatible bayonet), which were enhanced in quick cycles and shortly becoming better than the original -- the more so as ZEISS had problems to relaunch production in the post-war era with Carl Zeiss Jena and IKON in the East part of Germany occupied and exploited by the Russian for war reparation. CANON adhered to the West-German archetype LEICA with lenses in the same screw mount (M39 aka Leica Thread Mount or LTM). In the beginning CANON only manufactured cameras while Nikon made the lenses. Since 1947 Canon made the lenses for their own cameras - at the beginning copies of the German (Zeiss) Tessars, Sonnars and Triotars for simple use, and X-Ray cameras.


AMBITIOUS JAPANESE

After the war 1945 Japanese industry was completely destroyed and no consumer market was conseivable except the occupying force: US soldiers, who had destroyed the country with bombing before. These were the first customers for Japanese optical products. This marketing was supported by military leaders who favorized US boys buying Japanese products rather than taking their pay into pubs, or brothels. Not only US soldiers but also newsmen bought these products and spread them quickly to the USA and all over the world. There is famous tale of an American war correspondent in the Korea war 1951 who brought a couple of rolls to a New York photo lab. They turned out as the sharpest 35mm negs ever processed, and they wanted to know which camera and lenses the photograph had used? Well, what was it..? Not a big name like ZEISS, LEICA, VOIGTLAENDER or KODAK.. Some kind of unknown Japanese Zeiss-copy lens, although nicely finished, brillant blue coating glass with a name like a mixture of ZEISS-IKON and the Japanese appelation of their country in their own language, NIPPON... A star was born.

NIKKOR P.C. f/2 8.5cm

Nikkor-PC f/2 8.5cm (1948 Version)

The lens was a NIKKOR-P 2/8.5cm, with 5 elements, precursor of the famous Nikkor-P 2.5/105mm, build until present. Here on my Canon P in Leica Screw Mount. It was derived, but not optically indentical, to the pre-war Zeiss Sonnar f/2 8.5cm, which last group consists of 3 elements like most of the early Sonnars, whereas the Nikkor has one single element rear, but a thicker convex lens as third element, making the whole lens more front-heavy than the Zeiss.

Nikkor P.C. f/2 8.5cm (1948)
ZEISS Sonnar 1:2.0 8.5cm
Nikkor P.C. f/2 8.5cm (1948 - 5 elements/ 3 groups)
Zeiss Sonnar f/2 8.5cm (7 elements/ 3 groups)

Nikkor stands for the old name of Nikon-lenses engraved on them until the 80's. "P" (penta) means a 5-element-lens. "H" (hex) would be 6, "S" (septem) for 7 - the system went from 3 to 11. "C" means "coated" glass. Since coating soon gets self-evident after the war - especially at Japanese producers - the C later was left out. All pre-war Nikkors are coated and moreover, have a reputation to obtain the hardest and most durable coating in the world. Anyway, perhaps the old Nikkors are so rarely scratched because they were owned mostly by professional photographs who never polish their lenses as well... but they are also least suspectible to fungus or hazing, which is a horror to all collectors of the world.

The focus length in Centimeters - a tradition that Nikon retained to the early 70's , 30 years after the conservative Germans switched to Millimeters...

Next oddity: a Nikon lens that could be used with Leica-, Canon- and Voigtlander-cameras..? Strange nowadays, but common then. Nikon did the facturing of lenses before making cameras themself. They delivered Canon as well as other Japanese companies, and the aftermarket with attention to Contax and Leica users. A niche but profitying market. When Canon started producing lenses for their own, the buyer still had free choice. On the other hand, Canon produced (some) lenses with alien adapters too.. very few for Nikon. The tale goes that Nikon hereupon in the end of the 1950's shut-down the production of LTM-lenses, which biggest producer now was Canon. Because LEICA has produced most of their lenses since 1953 in the new, patent-protected M-bayonet... which protection recently dropped. Among each other the Japanese behaved like Gentlemen:: No poaching in neighbor's hunting ground...

This was defining the new Japanese way: Not only copying the German paragons, but modifying and enhancing them consistently, combine a way of venturing new ideas and designs and simplifying for cost and procuction reasons. This challange wasn't discerned by the German competitors, or even arrogantly denied as a "cheap copy" which by definition couldn't be better than the origin. Ten years later the bill was presented.

NIKKOR-P.C. 2.5/10,5cm (LTM)

Nikkor-PC 2.5/10,5cm - a mastership of manufacturing

This (my) lens is from about 1958, the fastest lens in the 100mm area then. Not a lightweight due to the thick middle-lenses but well-balanced at a solid camera like the Canon P The mounting with alloy and nice and durable black enamel. In due time no manufacturer in the world beats Nikon's manufacturing quality of glasses and corpus. You will not see it again either with older or newer lenses. It's an unsurpassed peak level.. The NIKKOR rangefinder lenses are getting more and more expensive, searched by all collectors in the world. Fanciers now look for Nikon-F lenses, also well finished. Prices will not come back to that low level again..!

The Nikkor 2.5/105 has the reputation of being one of the best portrait-lenses ever. multiple altered mounting for SLR product line, the optical design stays unchallenged except one minor change 1971 to the present. I beg even in today's econmy class with plastic mounting it will dispose more pleasure and nice pictures to their users than a pervasive standard 28-80mm zoom.


1951 - Four lenses designed of a Mr. HIROSHI ITO

In June 1951 four lens patents are registered by CANON - in Japan, USA and Germany as well- as invented by Mr. HIROSHI ITO...
Of this last lens Canon build more than 100.000; it will found Canon's name as a maker of first class photograpical optics in the same league with Leica und Zeiss, with still continues today.



SONNAR vs. PLANAR - design competition

Before WWII "standard lenses" for 35mm cameras had supposed to be compact...fast lenses were accounted distrustful for this reason, and because of the focussing precision which was not present at most cameras of that time.

Compactness in standard lenses today and 1955: Canon FD/ SLR 1.4/50 of 1979 on the left, Canon RF 1.5/50 of 1955 on the right. Nxt surprise if taken lenses in hand: The chrome RF lens weoghts 270g, 30g more than the black FD-lens 
zwei Normalobjektive f/1.5 bzw f/1.4

Dr. Helmut Naumann
(after 1950 head of reserach and development at Rodenstock) wrote about high-speed lenses in 1947 "for 35mm film they are usable for image photographing, but because of the high price and small area-of-focus their circle-of-friends will be small". A bad prognosis about the future market!

In 1934 ZEISS had developed the SONNAR - with f/2 (6 elements) and f/1.5 (7 elements) by far the most complex, fastest and best standard lens for at least the next 15 years....Thus laped the "standard" f/3.5 Leitz  Elmar - a 4-element Tessar-type. The advantage of the Sonnars were compactness in comparison to the Planar (Double-Gauss) designs and less number of optical groups (two cemented triples of elements) resulting in enhanced contrast and sharpness. In the past coating technique (invented also bey Zeiss in 1936) these lenses performed well enough for critical appliances at f/4 or f/5.6 whereas others need to be closed to f/11 or more.

Zeiss Sonnar f/1.5 (1936)
Leica Summicron f/2.0 (1950)
Sonnar f/1.5 (7 elements/ 3 groups)
Planar f/2 (6 elements/ 4 groups)

The first developed Planars for 35mm were only strong if not faster than f/2. Examples were the Leica Summicron f/2.0 or Canon f/1.8. Contrarivise the Sonnar allowed a more compact (shorter) build, but was more expensive in production and not usable for SLR cameras because the rear groups didn't allow enough clearance for the swinging mirror. It takes to 1958 to design f/1.4-speed-Planars with convincing quality. Then the Sonnar died off as a highspeed 35mm standard lens.

kompakterer Bau des Sonnars
Two Canon-lenses from about 1955, very similar from outside view, but representing two different design approaches. On the left a Sonnar (f/1.5),on the right a Planar (f/1.8). Designs like the above diagrams. Weight of both is equally (270g). The Sonnar is thicker due to higher speed but 5mm shorte. Both makes great pictures or slides, but the characteristic of the Sonnar-results are unique and away of the "cold perfection" of typical modern Planar lenses.


Info: how to avoid Zeiss Sonnar fakes at ebay or elsewhere


CANON RF 1.5/50mm

Canons first "fast speed lens" (since ca. 1947; my version is about 1955) High speed, though very compact lens, solid made with brass, quite heavy for the small volume. Derived from the pre-war Zeiss Sonnar (7 elements/ 3 groups). Best correction for medium distance and apertures. Very fine for portrait and night-shots. Until 1952 this was marketed as "Serenar", than "Canon Lens". Very good performer wide open (as most early Sonnars). Excellent contrast thanks to the low number of optical groups, typically for a Sonnar construction. Suspectible for flare due to the compact mount and single-coating; but the shade helps a lot. There is no need to close aperture farther than f/5.6 with a Sonnar for performance reasons. Some have f/11 as smallest, this on has f/16. In 1959 replaced by the (also excellent; easier to craft) 6-elements Planar 1.4/50 RF.

Canon "Sonnar" 1.5/50 (1947-1958)
Canon "Planar" 1.4/50 (1959-1968)
Voigtländer Nokton 1.5/50mm (2000)
Sonnar Type
Planar Type
Voigtlander_Nokton_new

I very much like the "Canon-Sonnar" for their nice pictures. Very sharp 10x enlargements are possible. It is well balanced with the 50 years newer Bessa-R, compact and lightweight. A true universal lens. Maybe the newer Planar-Type Voigtlaender Nokton 1.5/50 is slightly better, but according to Erwin Puts is back light sensible as well... Nevertheless I wanted a "Sonnar" type which nowadays is too big an effort to produce it in series, and the pictures have some special charme and atmosphere newer lenses miss.

Canon RF 1.5/50 von 1956 - at a new Bessa-R

Canon RF 1.5/50 - very sharp with 50 years age

sample pictures (klick for larger resultion):
Britain Triton 1.5/50mm @f/4

Alte Oper Frankfurt 1.5/50mm wide open

oops, what's this here? 1.5/50mm @f/5.6






UPDATE:  June 2006 --  Zeiss announced Sonnar 1.5/50 for Zeiss-Ikon Rangefinder Camera

C-Sonnar June 2006 ZEISS announced for the first time since CONTAX IIa/ IIIa was ceased more than 40 years ago, a Sonnar 35mm film lens with the classical data f/1.5 50mm - fitting the Rangefinder camera Zeiss-Ikon (Leica M mount) available since 3/4 year on the market..

It is more like the initial Sonnar-type invented by Ludwig Bertele than any other lens Zeiss had launched within the last 40 years under the "Sonnar" name. The third element of the Bertele design with lower optical power was replaced by (what old lens designers call) "air-lens". Different to those Ernostar-types mostly containing 4-5 elements, this one has one cemented triple in thge rear. In the 1950's companies like Canon and Asahi Optical experimenting with the Sonnar type, dissolving the last groups creating a 6 elements- 4 groups design, still keeping a Sonnar type.

So in 2006 Zeiss did the same stuff with the front triple group and shows to the market that the initial design still has reserves (assumed by traditionalists all the time). Maybe it will not show clinical sharpness like the hyper-modern designed Leica Apo-Summicron ASPH. 1.4/50mm -- but probably will cost only 1/3 of it. Anyway direct comparison picture-by-picture to the ZM-Planar 2.0/50mm will be interesting.

For these guys using Rangefinder the traditional way, as a journey or reportage camera, it may be worth a thought that the Sonnar is 6mm shorter than the ZM-Planar and uses 46mm filter (which is a quite common size)

Test pictures of this lens here - available soon..!
performance Sonnar
Performance Planar
Comparison of measured MTF-Data published by Zeiss of ZM-lenses 2.0/50 Planar (downside) and 1.5/50 C-Sonnar (above): At a level of high resolution  fine structures were shown with lower contrast at f/1.5 than with the Planar at f/2, what can be detected by the 40lp/mm line. At f/4 contrast of both lenses is very high with both lenses, but at very fine structures the Sonnar is weaker by a breeze. Both showing visible falloff of performance to the outmost edges of the pictures - stronger for the Sonnar.  No surprise, the f/1.5 Sonnar shows a bit more light-falloff to the edges wide open. Anyway both lenses looking quite resembling form paper values - pictures will tell..!

next part (II) of this page

Voigtlander Bessa Rangefinder Cameras 1930's, 1950's and present (German Language, NEW)


your comments to this page?

read all comments

ALTE MESSUCHER KAMERA SAMMLUNG  CANON/ NIKON   (Teil 1)
copyright by Frank Mechelhoff
update 31. Dez. 2006 (english)
(English Language Version)
Canon Rangefinder
Alles bloß Leica-Kopien ?
Vier Objektive eines Herrn Hiroshi Ito
Sonnar und Planar - Wettbewerb der Konstruktionen
Nikkor P.C. 2/8.5cm
Nikkor P.C. 2.5/10.5cm
Canon "Sonnar" RF 1.5/50mm

auf weiteren Seiten:
Wer erfand die TTL-Belichtungsmessung ?
Das Rennen um die lichtstärksten Objektive
Canon P RF Camera aka "the populaire"
Canon "Dream-lens" RF 0.95/50mm
Canon RF 3.5/100mm
Canon "Japanese Summicron" RF 2/35mm
Canon RF 1.8/85mm

Meine Bilder mit diesen Kameras 
Objektivtests Messucher Teleobjektive (LTM) - Canon, Nikon, Voigtländer, Jupiter --  under construction
Voigtländer Bessa-II Meßsucher und Konkurrenz 
Zeiss und Contax SLR Objektive 
zurück zur Camera Hauptseite

Ich bin kein Sammler - ich habe bloss einen Faible für Qualität. Ich kaufe Kameras und Objektive um sie zu benutzen. Was nicht funktioniert oder unscharfe Bilder macht, kommt wieder weg. Cameras und Objektive sind für mich dazu da Momente im Leben fotografisch einzufangen. Wenn alles funktioniert, trifft man manchmal auch andere Merkmale an, wie elegante zweckmässige Technik, gute und dauerhafte handwerkliche Ausführung und funktionsorientierte Gestaltung. Das Resultat sind feine Gebrauchsgeräte die auch nach Jahrzehnten selbstverständlich und ohne Fragen zu stellen ihrem zufriedenen Besitzer den geforderten Dienst erfüllen. Oft viel besser und dauerhafter als Konsum- und Wegwerfartikel der Gegenwart. So sehr dass man sich fragt: Wenn diese Dinger jetzt schon 50 Jahre halten - und bei guter Pflege wohl auch die nächsten 50 - und die neuen Sachen schon nach 10 Jahren Schrott sind, warum nicht besser überhaupt die Oldtimer kaufen bzw. benutzen?

Diesen Geist - ohne den snobistisch-elitären Unterton vom "Kultobjekt" - verkörpern für mich die japanischen Cameras der späten 50er und 60er Jahre: CANON, NIKON und (später) PENTAX sind die wichtigsten Marken, die dank dieser Haltung ingenieursmässigen und marktwirtschaftlichen Wettbewerbs gross wurden und noch immer damit leben, während Deutsche Konzerne entweder eingingen oder wie Leitz und Zeiss zu Nischenfirmen schrumpften.


COPYRIGHT (ALLE FOTOS UND TEXTE) by FRANK MECHELHOFF 2004 (Kopien nur zum privaten Gebrauch zulässig)
Fragen und Kontakte:    Frank.Mechelhoff "at" gmx.de


Canon 7 mit 0.95/50


CANON RANGEFINDER


Kaum jemand weiss dass es CANON, heute weltweit Nr.1 der Camerahersteller, mit Messucher-Kleinbildkameras (engl. Rangefinder) und auswechselbaren Objektiven - deren Erfinder und heute bekanntester Hersteller die Firma LEICA aus dem hessischen Solms/Wetzlar ist - vom Kleinbetrieb 1934 zu einem der Grossen gebracht hat. 1968 wurden allerdings diese Produktfamilie zugunsten der - von anspruchsvollen Amateurfotografen jetzt zunehmend verlangten - Spiegelreflexkameras (SLR's) eingestellt. Jedoch war Canons Erfolg bei den SLR's zunächst nur mässig - im Vergleich zu NIKON und PENTAX -, und das Geschäftsfeld 35mm-Camerabau schrumpfte sogar...bis die F-1 und AE1 zu Beginn der 80er Jahre den Durchbruch brachten. Heute erleben wir eine Renaissance der Rangefinder-Kleinbildkameras mitten im digitalen Zeitalter - während das Segment 35mm-SLR (besonders im Amateurmarkt) immer stärker schrumpft.


Alles bloß LEICA-KOPIEN...?

Canon begann in den 30'er Jahren mit Kopien der Leica-III, die in Japan nicht patentrechtlich geschützt war. Der Name war noch KWANON, eine Göttin der Barmherzigkeit - und barmherzig musste man wohl wirklich sein angesichts der Machart dieser ersten japanischen Kameras... Aber das sollte sich bald ändern! Nach 1945 verfielen alle Deutsche Patente, eine Folge des verlorenen Krieges, und ein harter Schlag für die Deutsche Fotoindustrie. Es war also völker- und wirtschaftsrechtlich erlaubt deutsche Vorkriegsprodukte beliebig zu kopieren, und Firmen in der ganzen Welt gingen ohne schlechtes Gewissen ans Werk. NIKON brachte sehr gute Kopien der Vorkriegs-Contax (mit sehr ähnlichem aber nicht vollständig kompatiblen Bajonett) heraus, die rasch verbessert wurden und bald dem Original überlegen waren, zumal ZEISS Probleme hatte in den Nachkriegswirren wieder Tritt zu fassen, und Carl Zeiss Jena und IKON im Osten lagen und für sowjetische Reparationen ausgebeutet wurden. CANON hielt sich am Vorbild der westdeutschen LEICA mit Objektiven mit M39-Schraubgewinden (auch Leica Thread Mount oder kurz LTM genannt). Anfangs baute CANON nur Camera, aber ab 1947 auch Objektive - zunächst Kopien der Deutschen Tessare und Sonnare für den einfachen Bedarf.


JAPANISCHER EHRGEIZ

1945 lag Japan in einem unvorstellbaren Ausmass darnieder. Nur ein Markt war überhaupt denkbar: Die Soldaten der Besatzungstruppen, die US-GIs. Amerikaner die das Land mit Bombenabwürfen zerstört hatten waren die ersten Exportkunden für die japanischen Kamera- und Optikmanufakturen. Die Japanischen Konstrukteure waren nicht damit zufrieden die Deutschen Cameras und Objektive nur zu kopieren, sondern verbesserten sie kontinuierlich, was von den Deutschen Produzenten arrogant und kurzsichtig übersehen, bzw. nicht wahrgenommen werden wollte.
Die US-Soldaten trugen die japanischen Objektive und Kameras um alle Welt. Es gibt die berühmte Geschichte von David Douglas Duncan, Kriegsberichterstatter im Koreakrieg 1951, der eines Tages ein paar Rollen Film in ein NewYorker Labor gab, die sich als die schärfsten jemals angelieferten Negative herausstellten. Welche Objektive hatte der Fotograf da benutzt, wollte man wissen? Ja, was war das eigentlich? Irgendeine unbekannte japanische Zeiss-Kopie mit einem Namen der klang wie eine Mischung aus ZEISS-IKON und dem Namen wie die Japaner ihr Land in ihrer Sprache selber nennen, NIPPON... ein Name wurde legendär.


NIKKOR_PC f/2 8.5cm Rangefinder in LTM

Nikkor-PC f/2 8.5cm (1948 Version)

Das Objektiv war ein NIKKOR-P 2/8.5cm, ein 5-Linser - hier die Version mit Schraubgewinde an einer Canon P - Vorgänger des bis heute gebauten berühmten Nikkor-P 2.5/105mm. Kein leichtes Objektiv (massives Messing und dicke schwere Linsen). Noch immer halten es viele für eine bloße Kopie des ZEISS Sonnar der Vorkriegszeit - dabei war die Konstruktion einfach anders. Nikon wich von der ZEISS-Konstruktion mit hinterem verkittetem Triplett ab und verbaute stattdessen eine einfache Linse, baute dafür aber das dritte Glied als Sammellinse (Feldebner) dicker.

Nikkor P.C. f/2 8.5cm (1948)
ZEISS Sonnar 1:2.0 8.5cm
Nikkor P.C. f/2 8.5cm (1948 - 5 Linsen in 3 Gruppen)
Zeiss Sonnar f/2 8.5cm (7 Linsen in 3 Gruppen)

Nikkor, das ist der alte Name für Nikon-Objektive, der bis in die 80'er Jahre auch auf diesen eingraviert stand. "P" (penta) steht immer für einen 5-Linser. "H" (hex) stünde für 6-, "S" (septem) für 7-Linser - das System geht von drei bis elf. "C" steht für "coated". Weil Vergütung nach dem Krieg irgendwann selbstverständlich wurde - bei den Japanischen Herstellern früher als bei Deutschen - liess man das C irgendwann weg. Alle Nachkriegs-Nikkore sind vergütet und haben überdies den Ruf, die härteste und dauerhafteste Vergütung aller Hersteller zu haben. Aber vielleicht sind die alten Nikkore auch nur deshalb so selten verkratzt weil sie meistens Profis gehörten die ihre Objektive nie putzen... sie sind aber überdies auch höchst selten anfällig für Linsentrübungen und Fungus, vor dem die Camerasammler in aller Welt ein Grauen haben.

Und dann die Brennweitenangabe in Zentimeters - das gab Nikon erst in den frühen 70ern auf, 30 Jahre nach den altmodischen Deutschen...

Nächste Merkwürdigkeit: ein Nikon-Objektiv das man auf Leica-, Canon- und modernen Voigtländer-Kameras benutzen kann? Ja das war üblich damals. Nikon war zuerst Objektiv- erst nach dem Krieg auch Camerahersteller. Als Canon dann begann Objektive für die eigenen Cameras herzustellen, hatte man immer noch die freie Auswahl. Canon baute nur wenige Objektive fremder Anschlüsse.. nur ganz wenige fürs Nikon-Bajonett... es heisst, Nikon hätte daraufhin (Ende der 50er) die Produktion von LTM-Objektiven auslaufen lassen, deren wichtigster Produzent jetzt Canon war (denn Leica baute seit 1953 Objektive im patentrechtlich geschützten M-Bajonet... dessen Patentschutz kürzlich ablief!) Die Japaner verhielten sich aber daraufhin untereinander gentlemanlike: Man wilderte nicht mehr in fremden Revieren...


NIKKOR-P.C. 2.5/10,5cm (LTM)

Nikkor-PC 2.5/10,5cm - ein Stück herrliche Objektivbaukunst

Dieses (mein!) Objektiv ist ca. von 1958 und war damals das lichtstärkste im Bereich um 100mm. Es ist nicht ganz leicht wegen der dicken Sammel-Linsen der Sonnar-Konstruktion, aber mit einer schweren Camera wie der Canon P sehr gut ausgewogen. Das Gehäuse ist schon aus viel Leichtmetall mit sehr schöner dauerhafter schwarzer Emaillierung. Kein anderer Hersteller dieser Zeit bringt eine Fertigung von Gläsern und Fassung die NIKON übertrifft. Sie markieren einen nie wieder erreichten handwerklichen Höchststand. Die Rangefinder Objektive von NIKON sind jetzt schon teuer und in aller Welt gesucht. Liebhaber decken sich jetzt mit alten Objektiven zur Nikon-F ein. So billig werden die Preise nie mehr wieder!

Das Nikkor 2.5/105 galt und gilt als eins der besten Portrait-Objektive. In den späten 60er Jahren wurde das Design ein einziges Mal leicht verändert für die erste "Profi-SLR" Nikon-F. In mehrfach verändertem Gehäuse, heute mit viel Plastik in die "economy-class" abgerutscht, ist es noch immer im Nikon-Lieferprogramm. Ich würde trotzdem wetten dass auch die aktuellste Version ihren Besitzern viel mehr Freude, und schöne Bilder beschert wie ein lichtschwaches (08/15) 35-70-Standardzoom, das man heute meint als Standardobjektiv zu benutzen.

1951 -Vier Objektive eines Herrn HIROSHI ITO

Im Juni 1951 lässt CANON vier Objektive patentieren - in Japan, USA und auch in Deutschland - als Erfinder ist ein Herr  HIROSHI ITO  eingetragen...
Von diesem letzteren Objektiv wird Canon über 100.000 fertigen; es wird seinen Ruf als Hersteller hochwertiger fotografischer Optiken, gleichbedeutend mit Leica und Zeiss begründen.


SONNAR und PLANAR - Wettbewerb der Konstruktionen

Vor dem Krieg galt die Regel im Kleinbildlkamerabau, daß ein Normal-/ Standardobjekt klein und kompakt zu sein habe.. deshalb (und wegen der größeren benötigten Einstellpräzision, die mit den damaligen Kameras nur im Ausnahmefall möglich war) wurden lichtstarke Objektive mißtrauisch betrachtet.

Kompaktheit bei Normalobjektiven vergleichbarer Lichtstärke (links Canon FD/ SLR 1.4/50 von 1979, rechts Canon RF 1.5/50 von 1955) Noch überraschender ist es die beiden in die Hand zu nehmen: das linke Objektiv wiegt 240g, das rechte 270g... (beide mit Rückdeckeln) 
zwei Normalobjektive f/1.5 bzw f/1.4

Dr. Helmut Naumann
(nach 1950 Forschungsleiter bei Rodenstock) schreibt über hochlichtstarke Objektive noch 1947 "für Kleinbildformate sind sie auch in der Fotografie brauchbar, dürften sich aber wegen ihres hohen Preises und ihrer sehr geringen Schärfentiefe keines großen Bekanntenkreises erfreuen". Das erwies sich als herbe Fehlprognose über die Bedürfnisse des Marktes!

ZEISS hatte 1934 das SONNAR herausgebracht, mit f/2 (mit 6 Linsen) bzw. f/1.5 (mit 7 Linsen) das konstruktiv aufwendigste, lichtstärkste und von den Ergebnissen für mindestens 15 Jahre beste Normalobjektiv. Damit war der bisherige "Standard", das Leitz Elmar f/3.5 - eine 4-linsige Tessar-Konstruktion - abgeschlagen. Die Vorteile des Sonnars lagen in seiner Kompaktheit gegenüber den Planar-Konstruktionen und in der verringerten Zahl der Glas-Luft-Flächen (Reflektionen!), was man durch Gruppierung (Verkittung) von je 3 Elementen vor und hinter der Blende erreichte. Bei der damaligen einschichtigen Vergütungstechnik (von ZEISS 1936 erfunden) zeigten diese Objektive besonders kontrastreiche Ergebnisse und waren bereits bei Blende 4-5.6 für anspruchsvolle Anwendungen geeignet, während andere bis 11 oder stärker abgeblendet werden mussten.

Zeiss Sonnar f/1.5 (1936)
Leica Summicron f/2.0 (1950)
Sonnar f/1.5 (7 Linsen in 3 Gruppen)
Planar f/2 (6 Linsen in 4 Gruppen)

Die ersten Planare fürs Kleinbildformat waren nur bis Lichtstärke f/2 überzeugend, und kamen nach dem Krieg auf. Das Leica Summicron f/2.0 oder das Canon f/1.8 waren hervorragende Beispiele. Das Sonnar ließ sich kompakter (kürzer) bauen, war jedoch fertigungstechnisch aufwendiger, und ungeeignet für Spiegelreflexkameras weil die hinteren Elemente nicht genügend Freiheit für den Spiegel liessen. Etwa ab 1958 gelang es qualitativ überzeugende Planar-Konstruktion auch mit f/1.4 zu bauen, die dem Sonnar schärfe- und kontrastmäßig gleichkamen. Danach starb das Sonnar als hochlichtstarkes Kleinbildobjektiv langsam aus.

kompakterer Bau des Sonnars
Zwei Canon-Objektive um 1955 herum, äußerlich sehr ähnlich und doch verschieden. Links Sonnar (f/1.5), rechts Planar (f/1.8) - Diagramm hier. Beide Objektive sind gleich schwer (270g). Das Sonnar ist etwas dicker aber 5mm kürzer. Beide liefern hervorragende, scharfe und kontrastreiche Bilder. Die Charakteristik der Sonnar-Bilder ist trotzdem eigentümlich, entfernt von der "kalten Perfektion" der Planar-Bildergebnisse.


CANON RF 1.5/50mm


Canons erste "high speed lens" (seit ca. 1947; mein Exemplar ist ca. von 1955) Lichtstarkes und kompaktes Standardobjektiv, dabei solide gebaut (Messingkörper, mit 270g fürs geringe Volumen recht schwer). Maximale Korrektion für mittlere Entfernungen und Blenden um f/5.6 Gutes Portrait- und Nachtobjektiv. Bis 1952-53 als "Serenar" (alter Handelsname der Canon Objektive), dann schlicht als "Canon Lens" etikettiert. Sehr gute Leistung auch bei Blenden 1.5-2. Insbesondere guter Kontrast dank der geringen Zahl der Elemente, typisch für die Sonnare. Durch die schmale schlanke Fassung und die Einschichtvergütung der 50er Jahre recht anfällig für Streulicht; die originale Sonnenblende hilft dem wirkungsvoll ab. Alle Sonnare sollten nicht zu stark abgeblendet benutzt werden, da hier die Leistung stark absinkt. Einige hatten kleinste Blende 11 (dieses hat 16). Ersetzt 1959 durch das 6-linsige Planar 1.4/50.

Canon "Sonnar" 1.5/50 (1947-1958)
Canon "Planar" 1.4/50 (1959-1968)
Voigtländer Nokton 1.5/50mm (2000) -ebenfalls ein Planar
Sonnar Type
Planar Type
Voigtlander_Nokton_new

Neben dem gleich kompakten Nikkor-S.C. 1.4/5cm bedeutendste Japanische Sonnar-Weiterentwicklung. Ich mag es wegen seiner guten Bilder. 10-fache Vergrößerung ist problemlos möglich. Es harmoniert auch gut mit der Bessa-R, ist kompakt und für die Lichtstärke leicht.
Heute, 50 Jahre später gibt es wieder ein f/1.5-Normalobjektiv für Schraub-Leica/ LTM: Das Voigtländer (Cosina) Nokton. Es ist weniger kompakt, wird vermutlich etwas besser sein - das sollte man wohlwollenderweise von einer 50 Jahre neueren Konstruktion annehmen dürfen - ist aber ebenfalls gegenlichtempfindlich, meint zumindest Erwin Puts... mir genügt das Canon-Sonnar mit seiner speziellen Atmosphäre, wie sie neuere Objektive nicht haben.

Canon RF 1.5/50 von 1956 - hier an einer Bessa-R

Canon RF 1.5/50 mit Original-Gegenlichtblende

Beispielbilder  (anklicken für Ausschnitt mit grösserer Auflösung):
Britische Triton 1.5/50mm @f/4

Alte Oper Frankfurt 1.5/50mm wide open

oops, wie kommt das hierher? 1.5/50mm @f/5.6



Info: Zeiss Sonnar Fälschungen im Umlauf (english)

DAS RENNEN UM DIE LICHTSTÄRKSTEN OBJEKTIVE

Lesen Sie weiter hier: Teil 2 (Canon RF Cameras und Objektive)

Voigtländer Bessa Messucher Cameras und Objektive
Meine Bilder mit diesen Kameras  
zurück zur Camera Hauptseite